Jornada Basin LTER People

This is the old version of the JRN LTER website. Please visit https://lter.jornada.nmsu.edu.

This listing of People within our research programs includes Jornada staff (both USDA Agricultural Research Service and New Mexico State University employees), collaborators (associated with us through a variety of cooperating organizations, institutions, agencies, and non-profit groups), post docs, and graduate students.
      Expertise Affiliation Contact
Lead PI
Debra Peters landscape ecology, modeling, plant ecology USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range deb.peters@usda.gov 575-646-2777
Executive Committee
Brandon Bestelmeyer ecosystem dynamics, science-management interface USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range brandon.bestelmeyer@usda.gov 575-646-4842
Niall Hanan landscape and regional vegetation dynamics, remote sensing and modeling New Mexico State University nhanan@nmsu.edu 575-646-3335
Greg Okin aeolion processes, remote sensing University of California, Los Angeles okin@ucla.edu 310-825-3426
Osvaldo Sala patterns in primary production, carbon and nitrogen cycles, scenario development Arizona State University Osvaldo.Sala@asu.edu 480-965-4120
Robert Schooley animal ecology, landscape ecology University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign schooley@illinois.edu 217-244-2729
Enrique Vivoni hydrological processes, ecohydrology, modeling School of Earth and Space Exploration & School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Arizona State University vivoni@asu.edu 480-727-3575
Co-Principal Investigator
Steven Archer physiological ecology, carbon and nitrogen cycles, grass-shrub interactions University of Arizona sarcher@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8791
Stephanie Bestelmeyer environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education stephanie@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Colby Brungard cbrungard.jrn.lter@gmail.com
Ferran Garcia-Pichel ferran@asu.edu
Jeff Herrick disturbance ecology, monitoring and assessment, soil-vegetation relationships USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range jeff.herrick@usda.gov 575-646-4842
Curtis Monger pedogenic carbonates, ecogeomorphic evolution, carbon sequestration USDA NRCS National Soil Survey Center curtis.monger@lin.usda.gov 402-437-4010
Nicole Pietrasiak drylandalgae@gmail.com
Craig Tweedie sensor technology University of Texas at El Paso ctweedie@utep.edu 915-747-8448
Information Manager
Greg Maurer gmaurer.jrn.lter@gmail.com
Research Site Manager
John Anderson site logistics and management New Mexico State University janderso@jornada-vmail.nmsu.edu 575-646-5818
Education Representative
Stephanie Bestelmeyer environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education stephanie@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Graduate Student Representative
Adam Schreiner-McGraw advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University apschrei@asu.edu 541-609-0736
Collaborator
Jayne Belnap soil crusts USGS Canyonlands Research Station jayne_belnap@usgs.gov 435-719-2333
Joel Brown carbon cycling USDA NRCS Jornada Experimental Range Joel.Brown@lin.usda.gov 575-646-2854
Dawn Browning phenology, remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range dbrownin@nmsu.edu 575-646-8032
Michaela Buenemann remote sensing New Mexico State University elabuen@nmsu.edu 575-646-3509
Andres Cibils animal behavior New Mexico State University acibils@nmsu.edu 575-646-4342
Mike Duniway plant-soil water interactions USGS Canyonlands Research Station mduniway@usgs.gov 435-719-2330
Emile Elias USDA Climate Hub USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range eliaseh@nmsu.edu 575-646-4842
Rick Estell plant secondary chemistry USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range rick.estell@usda.gov 575-646-6332
Laura Huenneke primary productivity Northern Arizona University laura.huenneke@nau.edu 928-523-2230
Jeff Kelly bird population dynamics University of Oklahoma jkelly@ou.edu 405-325-2440
Junran Li surface biogeochemical processes University of Tulsa junran@utulsa.edu 918-631-3013
Nathan Sayre socio-ecological interactions University of California, Berkeley nsayre@berkeley.edu 510-664-4072
Caiti Steele remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range caiti@nmsu.edu 575-646-4144
Walt Whitford animal processes, soil biology New Mexico State University wawhitfo@nmsu.edu 575-646-4842
Post Doctoral Fellow
Laureano Gherardi patterns in primary production [Osvaldo Sala] Arizona State University Laureano.Gherardi@asu.edu
Graduate Student
Lisa Baughman advisor: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrozet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso lcbaughman@miners.utep.edu
Aaron Boydston advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University aboydsto@asu.edu
Sherri Buerdsell advisor: Erik Lehnhoff New Mexico State University sherri@nmsu.edu
Herman Campos hcampos@nmsu.edu
Catherine Cort advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso cecort@miners.utep.edu
Grace Crain advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso gmcrain@utep.edu
Andrew Dominquez advisors: Erik Lehnhoff, Nicole Pietrasiak New Mexico State University ajd18@nmsu.edu
Alejandra Flores advisor: Craig Tweedie University of Texas - El Paso aflores84@miners.utep.edu
Victor Garcia advisor: Craig Tweedie University of Texas - El Paso vhgarcia4@miners.utep.edu
Jennifer Hu advisor: Laura Boucheron New Mexico State University jenhu@nmsu.edu
Alejandro Lara advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso alara7@miners.utep.edu
Brianna Lind advisor: Niall Hanan New Mexico State University lind@nmsu.edu
Owen McKenna advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University omckenna@asu.edu 480-965-7735
Alexander Naylor advisor: Greg Okin University of California - Los Angeles aknaylor@ucla.edu
Avishesh Neupane advisor: Greg Okin University of California - Los Angeles aneupane@ucla.edu
Eli Perez-Ruiz advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University eperezru@asu.edu
Nate Pierce advisor: Steven Archer University of Arizona npierce@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8791
Anna Pina advisors: Craig Tweedie, Vanessa Lougheed University of Texas - El Paso aepina@miners.utep.edu
Shani Rivera advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso slrivera2@miners.utep.edu
Quetzalcoatl Rosas advisors: Craig Tweedie, Louis Everett University of Texas at El Paso qmendozaro@miners.utep.edu
Kathleen Schaeffer advisors: Craig Tweedie, Jennie McLaren University of Texas - El Paso keschaeffer@miners.utep.edu
Adam Schreiner-McGraw advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University apschrei@asu.edu 541-609-0736
Megan Stovall advisor: Nicole Pietrasiak New Mexico State University mstovall@nmsu.edu
Svenja Wagner advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University skwagne1@asu.edu
Casey Wagnon advisor: Robert Schooley University of Illinois wagnoncasey@yahoo.com
Luis Weber-Grullon advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University luis.weber@asu.edu
Amy Wiedenfeld advisor:Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University awiedenf@asu.edu
Junzhe Zhang advisor: Greg Okin University of California - Los Angeles zhangjunzhe8868@ucla.edu
Support Staff
Dylan Burruss ecoinformatics New Mexico State University dylanb@nmsu.edu 575-646-6453
Courtney Currier technician Arizona State University cmcurrie@asu.edu
Bernice Gamboa administrative assistant USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range bernice.gamboa@usda.gov 575-646-4842
Charlene Gamboa administration New Mexico State University charhrsn@nmsu.edu 575-646-2964
Stephanie Haan-Amato environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education s.haan-amato@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Seth Hall LTER technician New Mexico State University sethahall08@gmail.com 575-646-2106
Conrad Nelson LTER technician New Mexico State University cwnelson@nmsu.edu 575 646 2106
Haneen Omari New Mexico State University hanomari@nmsu.edu 575-646-1728
Ryan Pemberton environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education ryan@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Geovany Ramirez machine learning [Debra Peters] New Mexico State University georam@nmsu.edu 575-646-6453
Gesuri Ramirez technician University of Texas at El Paso gramirez12@utep.edu
Ken Ramsey Server and Database Administrator New Mexico State University kramsey@jornada-vmail.nmsu.edu 575-646-7918
Heather Savoy ecoinformatics (for Debra Peters) New Mexico State University Heather.Savoy@usda.gov 575-646-6453
Scott Schrader GIS specialist USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range scott.schrader@usda.gov 575-646-5180