Jornada Basin LTER People

This listing of People within our research programs includes Jornada staff (both USDA Agricultural Research Service and New Mexico State University employees), collaborators (associated with us through a variety of cooperating organizations, institutions, agencies, and non-profit groups), post docs, and graduate students.

      Expertise Affiliation Contact
Lead PI
Debra Peters landscape ecology, modeling, plant ecology USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range debpeter@nmsu.edu 575-646-2777
Executive Committee
Kris Havstad range management, large herbivore behaviors USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range khavstad@nmsu.edu 575-646-4842
Curtis Monger pedogenic carbonates, ecogeomorphic evolution, carbon sequestration USDA NRCS National Soil Survey Center curtis.monger@lin.usda.gov 402-437-4010
Greg Okin aeolion processes, remote sensing University of California, Los Angeles okin@ucla.edu 310-825-3426
Osvaldo Sala patterns in primary production, carbon and nitrogen cycles, scenario development Arizona State University Osvaldo.Sala@asu.edu 480-965-4120
Enrique Vivoni hydrological processes, ecohydrology, modeling School of Earth and Space Exploration & School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Arizona State University vivoni@asu.edu 480-727-3575
Co-Principal Investigator
Steven Archer physiological ecology, carbon and nitrogen cycles, grass-shrub interactions University of Arizona sarcher@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8791
Brandon Bestelmeyer ecosystem dynamics, science-management interface USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range bbestelm@nmsu.edu 575-646-5139
Stephanie Bestelmeyer environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education stephanie@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Mike Duniway plant-soil water interactions USGS Canyonlands Research Station mduniway@usgs.gov 435-719-2330
Jeffrey Herrick disturbance ecology, monitoring and assessment, soil-vegetation relationships USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range jherrick@nmsu.edu 575-646-5194
Albert Rango hydrology, remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range alrango@nmsu.edu 575-646-2120
Nathan Sayre socio-ecological interactions University of California, Berkeley nsayre@berkeley.edu 510-664-4072
Robert Schooley animal ecology, landscape ecology University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign schooley@illinois.edu 217-244-2729
Heather Throop dryland biogeochemistry Arizona State University heather.throop@asu.edu 480-965-5081
Craig Tweedie sensor technology University of Texas at El Paso ctweedie@utep.edu 915-747-8448
Information Manager
Ken Ramsey ecoinformatics, relational databases New Mexico State University kramsey@jornada-vmail.nmsu.edu 575-646-7918
Research Site Manager
John Anderson site logistics and management New Mexico State University janderso@jornada.nmsu.edu 575-646-5818
Education Representative
Stephanie Bestelmeyer environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education stephanie@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Graduate Student Representative
Adam Schreiner-McGraw advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University apschrei@asu.edu 541-609-0736
Collaborator
Jayne Belnap soil crusts USGS Canyonlands Research Station jayne_belnap@usgs.gov 435-719-2333
Joel Brown carbon cycling USDA NRCS Jornada Experimental Range Joel.Brown@lin.usda.gov 575-646-2854
Dawn Browning phenology, remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range dbrownin@nmsu.edu 575-646-8032
Michaela Buenemann remote sensing New Mexico State University elabuen@nmsu.edu 575-646-3509
Andres Cibils animal behavior New Mexico State University acibils@nmsu.edu 575-646-4342
Emile Elias USDA Climate Hub USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range eliaseh@nmsu.edu 575-646-4144
Rick Estell plant secondary chemistry USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range restell@nmsu.edu 575-646-6332
Laura Huenneke primary productivity Northern Arizona University laura.huenneke@nau.edu 928-523-2230
Jason Karl journal map, spatial ecology, landscape toolbox USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range jason.karl@ars.usda.gov 575-646-1301
Jeff Kelly bird population dynamics University of Oklahoma jkelly@ou.edu 405-325-2440
Junran Li surface biogeochemical processes University of Tulsa junran@utulsa.edu 918-631-3013
Caiti Steele remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range caiti@nmsu.edu 575-646-4144
Walt Whitford animal processes, soil biology New Mexico State University wawhitfo@nmsu.edu 575-646-4842
Post Doctoral Fellow
Israel del Toro arthropod biodiversity [Brandon Bestelmeyer] University of Copenhagen israedt@gmail.com 575-646-1739
Laureano Gherardi patterns in primary production [Osvaldo Sala] Arizona State University lau@asu.edu
Matthew Levi linking pedology and vegetation dynamics [Brandon Bestelmeyer] USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range matthew.levi@ars.usda.gov 575-646-3557
Geovany Ramirez machine learning [Debra Peters] New Mexico State University georam@nmsu.edu 575-646-6453
Graduate Student
Herman Campos advisor: Heather Throop New Mexico State University hcampos@nmsu.edu 575-646-8808
Josh Haussler advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University jhaussle@asu.edu 480-727-3727
Aline Jaimes advisor: Craig Tweedie University of Texas at El Paso ajaimes@miners.utep.edu
Owen McKenna advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University omckenna@asu.edu 480-965-7735
Nate Pierce advisor: Steven Archer University of Arizona npierce@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8791
Adam Schreiner-McGraw advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University apschrei@asu.edu 541-609-0736
Support Staff
Dylan Burruss ecoinformatics New Mexico State University dylanb@nmsu.edu 575-646-1728
Roxanne Chepsongol senior LTER technician New Mexico State University roxannefranke@gmail.com 575-646-2106
Bernice Gamboa administrative assistant USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range bgamboa@nmsu.edu 575-646-4842
Kyle Gename LTER technician New Mexico State University kgename@nmsu.edu 575-646-2106
Libby Grace environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education libby@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Stephanie Haan-Amato environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education s.haan-amato@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Seth Hall LTER technician New Mexico State University sethahall08@gmail.com 575-646-2106
Charlene Harrison administration New Mexico State University charhrsn@nmsu.edu 575-646-2964
Valerie LaPlante webmaster USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range valerie.laplante@ars.usda.gov 575-646-5110
Jim Lenz network and systems support USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range jlenz@nmsu.edu 575-646-2951
Ryan Pemberton environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education ryan@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Gesuri Ramirez technician University of Texas at El Paso gesuri@gmail.com
Scott Schrader GIS specialist USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range schrader@nmsu.edu 575-646-5180
Mitra Solgi student programmer New Mexico State University mitrasolgi@yahoo.com
Rink Somerday environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education rink@asombro.org 915-253-3734
Jin Yao ecoinformatics New Mexico State University jyao@nmsu.edu 575-646-6453