Jornada Basin LTER People

This listing of People within our research programs includes Jornada staff (both USDA Agricultural Research Service and New Mexico State University employees), collaborators (associated with us through a variety of cooperating organizations, institutions, agencies, and non-profit groups), post docs, and graduate students.

      Expertise Affiliation Contact
Lead PI
Debra Peters landscape ecology, modeling, plant ecology USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range debra.peters@osec.usda.gov 575-646-2777
Executive Committee
Brandon Bestelmeyer ecosystem dynamics, science-management interface USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range brandon.bestelmeyer@ars.usda.gov 575-646-5139
Niall Hanan landscape and regional vegetation dynamics, remote sensing and modeling New Mexico State University nhanan@nmsu.edu 575-646-3335
Greg Okin aeolion processes, remote sensing University of California, Los Angeles okin@ucla.edu 310-825-3426
Osvaldo Sala patterns in primary production, carbon and nitrogen cycles, scenario development Arizona State University Osvaldo.Sala@asu.edu 480-965-4120
Robert Schooley animal ecology, landscape ecology University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign schooley@illinois.edu 217-244-2729
Enrique Vivoni hydrological processes, ecohydrology, modeling School of Earth and Space Exploration & School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Arizona State University vivoni@asu.edu 480-727-3575
Co-Principal Investigator
Steven Archer physiological ecology, carbon and nitrogen cycles, grass-shrub interactions University of Arizona sarcher@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8791
Stephanie Bestelmeyer environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education stephanie@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Jeff Herrick disturbance ecology, monitoring and assessment, soil-vegetation relationships USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range jeff.herrick@ars.usda.gov 575-646-4842
Curtis Monger pedogenic carbonates, ecogeomorphic evolution, carbon sequestration USDA NRCS National Soil Survey Center curtis.monger@lin.usda.gov 402-437-4010
Craig Tweedie sensor technology University of Texas at El Paso ctweedie@utep.edu 915-747-8448
Information Manager
Ken Ramsey ecoinformatics, relational databases New Mexico State University kramsey@jornada-vmail.nmsu.edu 575-646-7918
Research Site Manager
John Anderson site logistics and management New Mexico State University janderso@jornada-vmail.nmsu.edu 575-646-5818
Education Representative
Stephanie Bestelmeyer environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education stephanie@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Graduate Student Representative
Adam Schreiner-McGraw advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University apschrei@asu.edu 541-609-0736
Collaborator
Jayne Belnap soil crusts USGS Canyonlands Research Station jayne_belnap@usgs.gov 435-719-2333
Joel Brown carbon cycling USDA NRCS Jornada Experimental Range Joel.Brown@lin.usda.gov 575-646-2854
Dawn Browning phenology, remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range dbrownin@nmsu.edu 575-646-8032
Michaela Buenemann remote sensing New Mexico State University elabuen@nmsu.edu 575-646-3509
Andres Cibils animal behavior New Mexico State University acibils@nmsu.edu 575-646-4342
Mike Duniway plant-soil water interactions USGS Canyonlands Research Station mduniway@usgs.gov 435-719-2330
Emile Elias USDA Climate Hub USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range eliaseh@nmsu.edu 575-646-4144
Rick Estell plant secondary chemistry USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range rick.estell@ars.usda.gov 575-646-6332
Laura Huenneke primary productivity Northern Arizona University laura.huenneke@nau.edu 928-523-2230
Jeff Kelly bird population dynamics University of Oklahoma jkelly@ou.edu 405-325-2440
Junran Li surface biogeochemical processes University of Tulsa junran@utulsa.edu 918-631-3013
Albert Rango hydrology, remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range al.rango@ars.usda.gov 575-646-2120
Nathan Sayre socio-ecological interactions University of California, Berkeley nsayre@berkeley.edu 510-664-4072
Caiti Steele remote sensing USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range caiti@nmsu.edu 575-646-4144
Walt Whitford animal processes, soil biology New Mexico State University wawhitfo@nmsu.edu 575-646-4842
Post Doctoral Fellow
Laureano Gherardi patterns in primary production [Osvaldo Sala] Arizona State University lau@asu.edu
Wenjie Ji biogeography and community dynamics of native and invasive shrubs, remote sensing [Niall Hanan] New Mexico State University wenjieji@nmsu.edu
Matthew Levi linking pedology and vegetation dynamics [Brandon Bestelmeyer] USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range matthew.levi@ars.usda.gov 575-646-3557
Furong Niu plant ecophysiology [advisors: Steven Archer, Greg Okin] University of Arizona niufurong@gmail.com
Geovany Ramirez machine learning [Debra Peters] New Mexico State University georam@nmsu.edu 575-646-6453
Graduate Student
Lisa Baughman advisor: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrozet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso lcbaughman@miners.utep.edu
Aaron Boydston advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University aboydsto@asu.edu
Sherri Buerdsell advisor: Erik Lehnhoff New Mexico State University sherri@nmsu.edu
Herman Campos advisor: Heather Throop New Mexico State University hcampos@nmsu.edu 575-646-8808
Catherine Cort advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso cecort@miners.utep.edu
Grace Crain advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso gmcrain@utep.edu
Andrew Dominquez advisors: Erik Lehnhoff, Nicole Pietrasiak New Mexico State University ajd18@nmsu.edu
Alejandra Flores advisor: Craig Tweedie University of Texas - El Paso aflores84@miners.utep.edu
Victor Garcia advisor: Craig Tweedie University of Texas - El Paso vhgarcia4@miners.utep.edu
Jennifer Hu advisor: Laura Boucheron New Mexico State University jenhu@nmsu.edu
Alejandro Lara advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso alara7@miners.utep.edu
Brianna Lind advisor: Niall Hanan New Mexico State University lind@nmsu.edu
Owen McKenna advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University omckenna@asu.edu 480-965-7735
Alexander Naylor advisor: Greg Okin University of California - Los Angeles aknaylor@ucla.edu
Avishesh Neupane advisor: Greg Okin University of California - Los Angeles aneupane@ucla.edu
Haneen Omari advisors: Nicole Boucheron, Michele Nishiguchi New Mexico State University hanomari@nmsu.edu
Eli Perez-Ruiz advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University eperezru@asu.edu
Nate Pierce advisor: Steven Archer University of Arizona npierce@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8791
Anna Pina advisors: Craig Tweedie, Vanessa Lougheed University of Texas - El Paso aepina@miners.utep.edu
Shani Rivera advisors: Craig Tweedie, Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi University of Texas - El Paso slrivera2@miners.utep.edu
Quetzalcoatl Rosas advisors: Craig Tweedie, Louis Everett University of Texas at El Paso qmendozaro@miners.utep.edu
Kathleen Schaeffer advisors: Craig Tweedie, Jennie McLaren University of Texas - El Paso keschaeffer@miners.utep.edu
Julie Schlichte advisors: Craig Tweedie, Robert Schooley University of Texas - El Paso jmschlichte@miners.utep.edu
Adam Schreiner-McGraw advisor: Enrique Vivoni Arizona State University apschrei@asu.edu 541-609-0736
Megan Stovall advisor: Nicole Pietrasiak New Mexico State University mstovall@nmsu.edu
Svenja Wagner advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University skwagne1@asu.edu
Casey Wagnon advisor: Robert Schooley University of Illinois wagnoncasey@yahoo.com
Luis Weber-Grullon advisor: Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University luis.weber@asu.edu
Amy Wiedenfeld advisor:Osvaldo Sala Arizona State University awiedenf@asu.edu
Junzhe Zhang advisor: Greg Okin University of California - Los Angeles zhangjunzhe8868@ucla.edu
Support Staff
Dylan Burruss ecoinformatics New Mexico State University dylanb@nmsu.edu 575-646-1728
Roxanne Chepsongol senior LTER technician New Mexico State University roxannefranke@gmail.com 575-646-2106
Courtney Currier technician Arizona State University cmcurrie@asu.edu
Bernice Gamboa administrative assistant USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range bernice.gamboa@ars.usda.gov 575-646-4842
Libby Grace environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education libby@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Stephanie Haan-Amato environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education s.haan-amato@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Seth Hall LTER technician New Mexico State University sethahall08@gmail.com 575-646-2106
Charlene Harrison administration New Mexico State University charhrsn@nmsu.edu 575-646-2964
Jim Lenz network and systems support USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range jim.lenz@ars.usda.gov 575-646-2951
Conrad Nelson LTER technician New Mexico State University cwnelson@nmsu.edu 575 646 2106
Ryan Pemberton environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education ryan@asombro.org 575-524-3334
Gesuri Ramirez technician University of Texas at El Paso gramirez12@utep.edu
Heather Savoy ecoinformatics (for Debra Peters) New Mexico State University hsavoy@nmsu.edu 575-646-2660
Scott Schrader GIS specialist USDA ARS Jornada Experimental Range scott.schrader@ars.usda.gov 575-646-5180
Rink Somerday environmental science education Asombro Institute for Science Education rink@asombro.org 575-524-3334